if music be the food of fear… panic on!

I always write to music. Almost certainly my weapon of choice will be a film soundtrack or lush instrumental soundscape. Rarely music with lyrics as they’re oftentimes too distracting. I have a number of playlists that allow me to key into the emotional feeling and atmosphere of a particular project, which can be very useful when working on novel edits or screenplay rewrites for the umpteenth time. I guess it’s like using music as a form of self-hypnosis, fast-tracking the subconscious mind into a certain place, a particular narrative universe.

No surprise then that when I was commissioned by the film’s producers to write the Panic Button movie novel, I reached for the rough mixes of the movie’s soundtrack kindly sent to me by composer Mark Rutherford. The music has everything I needed to put myself back on Deppart Airlines Flight D-665 and into the heads of Jo, Max, Dave, Gwen and the Alligator himself (a very scary place to be, I assure you!)

I urge you to download the official soundtrack, available now on iTunes. It is (as it was for me during writing) the perfect accompaniment to the movie novel, currently flying high at #1 on Amazon’s horror and thriller charts.

Unhappy listening,
Frazer x

About frazerlee

writer/director: On Edge, Red Lines, The Stay. screenwriter: Simone, Panic Button. bram stoker award nominated author: The Lamplighters, The Lucifer Glass, The Jack in the Green. http://www.frazerlee.com

Posted on March 3, 2012, in fiction, horror, movie news, panic button. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,488 other followers

